# Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services Quality Care Subcommittee September 29, 2015

#### **Members Present**

Kelly Carter, Chair, Illinois Primary Health Care Association Candace Clevenger, Heritage Behavioral Health Joshua Evans, Illinois Association of Rehabilitation Facilities Art Jones, Medical Home Network Ryan Lipinski, CountyCare Health Plan for Kathy Chan, Cook County Health and Hospitals System Margaret Kirkegaard, Illinois Academy of Family Physicians Edward Pont, Illinois Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics Jacquelyn Smith, NextLevel Health Partners LLC (via phone)

### **Members Absent**

Alvia Siddiqui, Advocate ACE/MCCN

### **HFS Staff Present**

Sameena Aghi Ellen Amerson Shanan Casey Julie Doetsch Arvind K. Goyal Teresa Hursey Mary Moody Alison Rhodes Sylvia Riperton-Lewis Stacey Splain Bridgett Stone Shannon Sweeney Linda Wheal

#### **Interested Parties**

Renae Alvarez, HMPRG Anne Bobb, Lurie Children's Hospital Judy Bowlby, Liberty Dental Molly Braun, Fresenius Medical Care Kim Burke, Lake County Health Department Anna Carvalho, LaRabida Sandy DeLeon, Ounce of Prevention Jacob Ginsburg, HMPRG Vivian Gonzalez, AHS Ollie Idowu, Harmony Nadeen Israel, EverThrive Illinois Andrea Kovach, Shriver Center Keith Kudla, FHN/ CCAI Deb Matthews, UIC-DSCC Karen Moredock, DCFS Xenia Okalibe, SmartPlan Choice Sharon Post, HMPRG Luvia Quinones, ICIRR Dan Rabbitt, Heartland Alliance Amy Sagen, UI Health Ralph Schubert, IPHA Alicia Siani, EverThrive Illinois Jeanine Solinski, University of Chicago Felicia Spivak, BCBSIL Rebecca Thompson, Progress Center

## Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services Quality Care Subcommittee September 29, 2015

#### **Meeting Minutes**

- I. Call to Order: The first bi-monthly meeting of the Medicaid Advisory Committee Quality Care Subcommittee was called to order September 29, 2015 at 10:06 a.m. by chair Kelly Carter. A quorum was established.
- II. Introductions: Quality Care subcommittee members, HFS staff, and interested parties were introduced in Chicago, Springfield, and over the phone. HFS Medical Programs Acting Administrator Teresa Hursey discussed that this first meeting would be a 'level-set' to inform members of the subcommittee of the current quality mission of HFS. Chair Kelly Carter thanked Dr. Pont for his service as Chair of the previous iteration, the Care Coordination subcommittee.
- III. Approval of March 17, 2015, and June 9, 2015 Meeting Minutes of Care Coordination subcommittee: Kelly Carter led a discussion on the March and June minutes of the Care Coordination subcommittee. Dr. Art Jones made a motion to approve the March meeting minutes. This motion was seconded by Dr. Ed Pont, and passed by unanimous vote. A quorum was not established at the June 9 meeting. Parliamentarian Dr. Arvind Goyal noted that as a quorum was not established, no actions were made, but the minutes could be approved as a record of the meeting. There were no objections by the committee.
- IV. Review of subcommittee charge: Kelly Carter reviewed the current subcommittee charge which was updated at the June 12 Medicaid Advisory Committee meeting. Dr. Art Jones inquired as to the support that HFS would provide in supplying data on social determinants of health. Dr. Margaret Kirkegaard made a motion to add the following language to item three of the subcommittee charge, "identify and address health disparities related to all medical assistance programs." The motion was seconded by Dr. Art Jones. The motion passed with unanimous approval.
- V. Current Status Overview Quality management: Sylvia Riperton-Lewis, acting chief of the Bureau of Quality Management along with Julie Doetsch, Shanan Casey, Ellen Amerson, Sameena Aghi, Stacey Splain overviewed efforts of the Bureau of Quality Management including value based purchasing, quality metrics, informatics, quality monitoring, and the grievance and appeals process. Dr. Art Jones moved to make the information provided in the performance measures by health plan be unblinded to have specific information about

# Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services Quality Care Subcommittee September 29, 2015

individual MCO's. Sylvia Riperton-Lewis noted that the information will be updated and provided at the next meeting, and is also currently available on the HFS website at: <a href="http://www.illinois.gov/hfs/SiteCollectionDocuments/2014VMCO\_HEDIS\_Rates\_Percentiles.">http://www.illinois.gov/hfs/SiteCollectionDocuments/2014VMCO\_HEDIS\_Rates\_Percentiles.</a> pdf. The motion was vacated with this response.

Dr. Art Jones made a motion that HFS data should be broken down by FFS and MCO and compared against national standards. Margaret Kirkegaard seconded the motion. This motion passed unanimously. Ellen Amerson from HFS BQM noted that the department established baselines by comparing FFS vs MCO data. New HFS measures are HEDIS based which will allow comparison to national metrics. Previous measures were partially based on HEDIS, and this information is also on the HFS website here:

http://www.illinois.gov/hfs/SiteCollectionDocuments/ICPHEDIScompare1.pdf

Dr. Art Jones made a motion for HFS, "to create a plan to aggregate provider-level data to present". Dr. Pont seconded the motion and moved to amend the motion with the addition of "while concurrently improving MCO-Patient assignment accuracy." After discussion of the motion by committee members as well as Dr. Arvind Goyal the final motion, "HFS present a plan to aggregate and analyze provider level data, with appropriate disqualifiers, while concurrently improving MCO-Patient assignment accuracy at the December 9 meeting of the Quality Care subcommittee." The motion was voted on by the committee and passed unanimously.

- VI. Direction of Subcommittee: Kelly Carter led a discussion on the direction of the subcommittee, noting that several motions had requested information, and the committee will begin focusing on this information for the next meeting.
- VII. Open to Subcommittee: No additional items were brought to the committee.
- VIII. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 11:55 a.m.