Court ordered mediation services and the development of parenting plans are provided at no cost to never married parents under Access and Visitation Programs located in Cook, DuPage, Lake, Peoria, Tazewell and St. Clair Counties.

The United States Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families provides grants via The Access and Visitation Program to States in order to establish and administer programs to support and facilitate parents' access to and visitation of their children. These services in Illinois are administered by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services, Division of Child Support Services.



Illinois Laws...

Changed in order to provide a greater degree of fairness in the areas of paternity and child support. This pamphlet is intended to provide a summary of the major changes in these areas.





MEDIATION SERVICES FOR NEVER MARRIED PARENTS



PROVIDING
BALANCE
IN THE LIVES
OF OUR
CHILDREN

ILLINOIS LAWS	THEN (prior)	NOW (current)
Terminology Changes	Visitation	Parenting Time
	Visitation Order	Parenting Plan
	Custody	Allocation of Parental Responsibilities
	Removal (changing child's permanent place of residence)	Relocation (changing child's permanent place of residence)
	Custodial Parent	Obligee or Parent
	Non Custodial Parent	Obligor or Parent
Parentage Act	Parentage Act of 1984	Parentage Act of 2015
Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity (VAP)	Effective upon signing and witnessing Creates a presumption of paternity	Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with and approval by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services
	Must be signed on or after the birth of a child	Equivalent to a judgment of paternity
		May be signed prior to the birth of a child
Right to Cancel VAP	Effective upon signing, witnessing and Filing with the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services within 60 days of signing the VAP or Denial of Paternity	Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services within 60 days of the filing of the VAP or Denial of Paternity
Denial of Paternity	Effective upon signing and witnessing	Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with and approval by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services
Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act - Child Support Guidelines -	Percentage of Income Guidelines based on: • Non-custodial parent's income	 Income Shares Guidelines based on: both parent's income (civil unions are recognized) the prorated share for each parent of the combined income, and the child's physical care arrangements (parenting time; shared parenting; split care). Other factors may include, but not be limited to, extracurricular activities and school expenses; child care; and health care. There is a Basic Chart and a Worksheet provided by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services. The Basic Chart computes net income by deducting the standardized tax amount from gross income.
		The Worksheet is used for calculating child support utilizing each parent's income and physical child care arrangements such as parenting time. If a parent is unemployed or underemployed, child support shall be calculated based on a determination of potential income.
Health Care for Child	Primarily required the non-custodial parent to provide insurance for the child	Either or both parents may be required to provide insurance or cash medical for the child.
and the state of t	white with the state of the sta	Health cost may not exceed 5% of providing parent's gross income.