

201 South Grand Avenue East Springfield, Illinois 62763-0002

Telephone: (217) 782-1200 TTY: (800) 526-5812

July 1, 2022

Mr. Corey Taliaferro CEO Aetna Better Health MMAI

RE: CY2022 (April - June) Provider Resolution Portal Sanction Payment Notice: \$5,000 Financial Penalty

Dear Mr. Taliaferro:

This letter serves as written notification to Aetna Better Health MMAI ("Aetna MMAI") of sanction pursuant to Section 5.3.14 of the Medicare-Medicaid Alignment Initiative Contract . Pursuant to 89 III. Adm. Code 140.75, within 30 calendar days after receiving a disputed claim from the Department's provider complaint portal, the MCO will develop a written proposal to resolve the disputed claims, which shall be electronically transmitted to the provider and uploaded to the provider complaint portal.

Aetna MMAI is in direct violation of 89 III. Adm. Code 140.75 by not providing a written response/resolution within the 30 calendar day timeframe for the following ticket:

Overdue Provider Resolution Ticket Details:

<u>Ticket Ref No</u>: MCP-220301-105110-01 <u>Written Proposal Resolution Due Date</u>: 04/01/2022 <u>MCO Written Proposal Response Submission Date</u>: 04/04/2022 <u>Complaint Type</u>: Payment/Claims <u>Fine Due</u>: \$5,000.00 Portal Email Fine Notice issued to MCO: 04/01/2022

Therefore, pursuant to section 5.3.14 of the Contract, the Department is issuing Aetna MMAI a sanction in the amount of \$5,000. Aetna MMAI is to issue a check payable to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services and submit that check to the contact and address listed below no later than 08/01/2022. In the memo section of the check, please indicate "Aetna MMAI CY2022 (April - June) Provider Resolution Portal Sanction".

Department of Healthcare and Family Services Bureau of Fiscal Operations, Attn: Donavon Patton 2200 Churchill Road, Building A2 Springfield, IL 62702 If you have any questions regarding this notification, please contact your HFS Account Manager, Lauren Polite at Lauren.Polite@illinois.gov.

Sincerely,

Robert Mendonsa, Deputy Administrator Division of Medical Programs

cc: Mark Szymala, Anita Stefanich, Laura Ray, Sam Trigillo, Brenda Vilayhong, Lauren Polite, Amy Roberts, Dennise Parker, April OShea and Donavon Patton