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Court ordered mediation services and the development
of parenting plans are provided at no cost to never
married parents under Access and Visitation Programs
located in Cook, DuPage, Lake, Peoria, Tazewell and
St. Clair Counties.

The United States Department of Health and Human
Services, Administration for Children and Families provides
grants via The Access and Visitation Program to States in
order to establish and administer programs to support and
facilitate parents’ access to and visitation of their children.
These services in Illinois are administered by the Illinois
Department of Healthcare and Family Services, Division of
Child Support Services.

Illinois Laws…
Changed in order to provide a greater degree of

fairness in the areas of paternity and child support.
This pamphlet is intended to provide a summary of

the major changes in these areas.

For general information concerning 
Illinois’ child support services

go to
www.childsupport.illinois.gov

or call 
Child Support Customer Service 

Call Center
1�800�447�4278
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ILLINOIS LAWS
Terminology Changes

Parentage Act

Voluntary Acknowledgment of 
Paternity (VAP)

Right to Cancel VAP

Denial of Paternity

Illinois Marriage and 
Dissolution of Marriage Act

- Child Support Guidelines -

Health Care for Child

THEN (prior)
Visitation

Visitation Order

Custody

Removal (changing child’s permanent place of residence)

Custodial Parent

Non�Custodial Parent

Parentage Act of 1984

Effective upon signing and witnessing

Creates a presumption of paternity

Must be signed on or after the birth of a child

Effective upon signing, witnessing and Filing with the Illinois
Department of Healthcare and Family Services within 60 days of
signing the VAP or Denial of Paternity

Effective upon signing and witnessing

Percentage of Income Guidelines based on:
• Non‐custodial parent’s income

Primarily required the non‐custodial parent to provide insurance
for the child

NOW (current)
Parenting Time

Parenting Plan

Allocation of Parental Responsibilities

Relocation (changing child’s permanent place of residence)

Obligee or Parent

Obligor or Parent

Parentage Act of 2015

Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with and 
approval by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family
Services

Equivalent to a judgment of paternity

May be signed prior to the birth of a child

Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with the Illinois
Department of Healthcare and Family Services within 60 days
of the filing of the VAP or Denial of Paternity

Effective upon signing, witnessing and filing with and 
approval by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family
Services

Income Shares Guidelines based on:
• both parent’s income (civil unions are recognized)
• the prorated share for each parent of the combined 

income, and
• the child’s physical care arrangements (parenting time; 

shared parenting; split care).
• Other factors may include, but not be limited to, 

extracurricular activities and school expenses; child care; 
and health care.

There is a Basic Chart and a Worksheet provided by the Illinois
Department of Healthcare and Family Services.

The Basic Chart computes net income by deducting the
standardized tax amount from gross income.

The Worksheet is used for calculating child support utilizing
each parent’s income and physical child care arrangements such
as parenting time.

If a parent is unemployed or underemployed, child support
shall be calculated based on a determination of potential
income.

Either or both parents may be required to provide insurance
or cash medical for the child.

Health cost may not exceed 5% of providing parent’s gross
income.


