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Illinois All Kids Eligibility and Coverage Start Dates – February 2014 
 
 The chart below shows the different All Kids’ plans of coverage and the current income eligibility limits 
for each based on family size.  Differences in the All Kids’ plans derive from state law and rules that require more 
cost sharing as family income rises and that plans with premiums operate more like private insurance (for 
example, coverage is prospective).  As a result, for children in families within these plans of coverage, there are 
varying rules regarding the start date for coverage, presumptive eligibility, retroactive coverage, waiting periods 
for coverage, and financial arrangements including premiums and cost-sharing. The following examples will 
illustrate how some of these rules apply to children in families within different plans of coverage.  
 
Example 1: Presumptive eligibility and retroactive coverage 
 A family of three, making $3,000 per month, takes their twelve-year-old son to the doctor with a broken 
wrist on 1/9/2014. A staff person at the doctor’s office tells them about All Kids, which they have never applied 
for before.  They start an ABE application which they submit on 1/14/2014. Because the family’s income places 
them in Premium Level 1 and the son has not had presumptive eligibility (PE) coverage in the last twelve months, 
he is eligible for PE, and has coverage beginning January 14th, the date of application. The application is 
processed and approved on 2/19/2014 and the son is enrolled effective 4/1/2014. (If eligibility is denied, PE 
coverage ends five days after the application is processed.) The family will pay a premium of $15 per month for 
coverage, and pay no more than $100 in out-of-pocket costs during the year. Because this was the first time they 
had applied for coverage, once enrollment is complete they are also able to request coverage for up to two weeks 
prior to the date of application.  All Kids covers the doctor visit on 1/9/2014 (as long as the initial doctor’s visit 
bills were previously unpaid, the doctor was enrolled in Illinois Medicaid and the services are Medicaid covered).  
 
Example 2: Private coverage and waiting periods 
 A family of five with three children ages 2 years, 5 years, and 9 years has coverage provided by the 
father’s employer. The family has income of $5,000 per month (All Kids Premium Level 2). Although they 
struggle to pay their monthly premiums, because of their income level, the children must be uninsured for 12 
months or meet an exception to qualify for All Kids. At the end of 2013, the father’s employer drops health 
insurance for part-time employees and the family loses coverage, although the father remains employed. The 
family applies for All Kids. The children are not eligible during the twelve-month waiting period following the 
date the employer’s insurance ended.  Because the parent’s job did not end, they are not eligible for an exception. 
The family will need to buy coverage on the Marketplace. At their income level, they will be eligible for APTCs.
 
Example 3: Spenddown  

A family of three with one child, age 8 has income of $4,000 per month (All Kids Premium Level 2).  In 
November, the child is hospitalized. The hospital bill comes to $15,000. The family submits an ABE application 
in December, asks for coverage of November and uploads a copy of the hospital bill.  The application is processed 
1/16/2014. The family’s spenddown amount for the month of November is $3,492 ($4,000 - $508).  That is what 
the family is responsible for paying toward the hospital bill with the state covering the remaining costs up to state 
Medicaid rates.  The child’s All Kids Premium Level 2 coverage begins 3/1/14 so they no longer need 
spenddown.  The family is obligated to pay the state a monthly premium of $40 beginning with the month of 
March for their child’s coverage.
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Illinois All Kids Eligibility and Coverage Start Dates – February 2014 

(FPL levels updated for 2014) 
 

Family 
Size 

All Kids Assist 
-age 18 or younger 

- family income 

All Kids Share 
-age 18 or younger 

- family income 

All Kids 
Premium Level  1 
- age 18 or younger 

- family income 

All Kids 
Premium Level  2 
- age 18 or younger 

- family income 

1 Up to $1,430 
per month 

$1,431-$1,527 
per month 

$1,528 - $2,033 
per month 

$2,034 - $3,093 
per month 

2 Up to $1,927 
per month 

$1,928 – 2,058 
per month 

$2,059-2,740 
per month 

$2,741 – 4,168 
per month 

3 Up to $2,424 
per month 

$2,425 – 2,589 
per month 

$2,590-3,447 
per month 

$3,448 – 5,244 
per month 

4 Up to $2,922 
per month 

$2,923 – 3,120 per 
month 

$3,121-4,154 
per month 

$4,155 – 6,320 
per month 

5 Up to $3,419 
per month 

$3,420 – 3,652 
per month 

$3,653-4,861 
per month 

$4,862-7,396 
per month 

     
If determined eligible, 
what is the date 
coverage starts?i 

First day of the 
month of applicationii 

Depends on date application is processediii; if processed before 15th of 
month, coverage starts first day of next month.  If after 15th, starts first 
day of second month following processing month.iv 

Is Presumptive Eligibility 
(PE) possible for 
coverage to start while 
application is pending 
determination? 

Once in a 12-month period, if citizens or lawfully present, state 
caseworker can presumptively enroll a child based on income 
declared on the application while eligibility determination is pending.  
PE coverage begins on date of application. 

 
NO 

Is retroactive coverage 
available prior to the 
application date? 

If requested and 
eligible, available for 
3 months prior to 
application date.  
Can be requested at 
any time. 

Only the first time a child is approved, 
coverage can begin 2 weeks prior to date of 
application.  May be requested only after 
enrollment. 

No, except for infants 
who can be enrolled 
from date of birth if 
application is filed 

before the first day of 
the fourth month 
following birth. 

Can someone have 
private insurance and 
still qualify for All Kidsv 

 
YES 

 
YES 

 
YES 

 
NO 

Is there a waiting period 
for Medicaid eligibility if 
had other coveragevi 

 
NO 

 
NO 

 
NO Yes – 12 months but 

exceptions applyvii 

Premiums and/or co-
payments 
 

 
NO 

No premium 
Maximum cost 
share/year is $100 
per family for all 
services 

1 child = $15 
2-children = $25 
Each add child = $5 
up to max of $40/mo 
Max cost share is 
$100 per family/year 

1 child = $40/mo 
2 or more = $80/mo 
Maximum cost 
share/year is $500 
per child for hospital 
services 

Is monthly eligibility 
available through 
Spenddown for children 
in families with high 
medical bills?viii 

Not relevant 

Yes.  Medicaid provides coverage after a family has medical costs 
totaling the difference between their monthly income and the 
spenddown level below.  Available retroactively per the All Kids Assist 
policy described above, regardless of income. 

Spenddown level family of 1 – $283/mo 
Spenddown level family of 2 – $375/mo 
Spenddown level family of 3 – $508/mo 
Spenddown level family of 4 – $558/mo 
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Spenddown level family of 5 – $650/mo 
 

                                            
i What does “date coverage starts” mean if someone doesn’t have a Medicaid card? 
If someone needs health services while their Medicaid application is pending, they should be sure to:  1) receive 
those services from a Medicaid provider (found at www.enrollhfs.illinois.gov); 2) be sure Medicaid covers those 
services (contact the Health Benefits Hotline at 1-800-226-0768); and 3) have the provider bill rather than 
demand payment at point of service.  If someone is found eligible and there is an unpaid bill for Medicaid 
covered services from a Medicaid provider, the consumer should contact the provider, give them their Recipient 
Identification Number (RIN) and have the provider submit the bill to Medicaid 
ii Month of Application 
The month of application is determined by the date the application is received by HFS or DHS.  Regardless of the 
day an application is received (could be the first, last or any other day of the month), for All Kids Assist cases the 
first day of  regular (not PE) coverage is automatically the first day of the month in which the application was 
received unless the family requests and the child qualifies for retroactive coverage. 
iii Date Processed 
Date processed means the day on which a state case worker finalized the decision on an applicant’s eligibility. 
iv Prospective coverage  
All Kids Share and All Kids Premium Level 1 & 2 were designed to mirror private insurance practices in so far as 
families would be advised to enroll prior to needing coverage.  This philosophy underlies the rationale for the 
programs.  A second reason for prospective enrollment is to prevent families from incurring premium debt for 
past months.  No one can know for sure when they apply for All Kids whether they will have to pay a premium 
for coverage.  By starting enrollment prospectively, the state assures that families have time to cancel before 
coverage begins if they are unwilling to pay the premiums. 
v Federal restriction on reimbursement 
No federal reimbursement under Title XXI, CHIPRA, is available for any child who is insured when enrolled.  That 
means children with insurance in All Kids Share, All Kids Premium Levels 1 and 2 are 100% state funded. 
vi See previous note 
vii Exceptions to the 12 month All Kids Premium Level 2 Waiting Period: 

1. The child lost employer-sponsored health insurance when the child's parent's job ended;  
2. The child has no health insurance and is less than one year old in the month of application for All Kids; 
3. The child has exhausted the life-time benefit limit of his or her health insurance; 
4. The child's health insurance is purchased under the provisions of Consolidated Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act (COBRA);  
5. The child was disenrolled for medical assistance under the Public Aid Code or benefits, including rebates, 

under the Children's Health Insurance Program Act within one year prior to applying under this Part; or 
6. The child has health insurance provided by the child's noncustodial parent and the child's custodian is 

unable to access such health insurance benefits for the child. 
viii What is Spenddown?  Medicaid spenddown offers a kind of catastrophic coverage for children at any income 
level whose families have very high medical bills in a calendar month.  Families pay costs up to a set amount for 
the month based on income.  This is their spenddown amount and is the difference between monthly income 
and the spenddown level on the chart.  Once a family can show family bills or receipts for services, including 
insurance premiums, equal to the monthly spenddown amount, Medicaid covers the child’s care costing in 
excess of that amount for the remainder of that month.  A family can submit bills or receipts each month or, if 
there are large medical bills, a family can submit them at one time to meet their spenddown amount for several 
months.  Bills from up to 6 months prior to the application can be used to meet spenddown.  Eligibility for 
spenddown is available retroactively for up to three months prior to the application date.  
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